2017: The last year of my 20s

First off I would like to wish you a happy new year!

newyear

 

For a lot of people (including myself), 2016 wasn’t the greatest year  like a lot of us had hoped it would be. I did have some pretty amazing things happen and some pretty devastating things happen as well. In regards to last year, I am glad it is over and the new beginning is here.

mad

As the hours left in 2016 ticked away one by one, I sat and really reflected on everything that had happened. I realized 2017 (The year of the Rooster per Chinese astrology)  would be the last year of my 20s. I would be turning 29 years old in August. Now my 20s has been nothing short of learning a lot of life lessons and learning how to properly “adult”. Throw in being a millennial, mommy to soon to be 5 kids, and a wife… and you have instant maturation (not all of us can say this). I realized that I spent the majority of my 20s pregnant, being responsible, and checking academic goals off slowly but surely. I also realized I haven’t gotten to do a lot of things that I said I was going to do during my 20s…because well sh*t happens.

I started a list of things both on Pinterest and on my little physical note pad that I want to do, get better at and accomplish. I figured it would be fun to incorporate these things into my blog and kind of make it a series as I check them off. I am not going to be too hard on myself if I do not get to do everything, because let’s face it..my schedule is about to be pretty sh*tty once the new baby gets here in a few weeks.

Okie dokie so here we go…

goals4

Save more money

 So we started trying to save more the past few years and last year was a lil shakey. We didn’t put as much as I would have liked into savings. Some of this was due to over spending and saying what budget? So we are going to be getting back on track with budgeting and contributing more than we were to savings. I don’t plan to totally adopt the whole trendy being a minimalist lifestyle because well that sh*t isn’t for me and we have made cuts where we deemed were reasonable to not be miserable.

money

Start working out every other day and just being more active in general 

Now this is speaking in terms of after I have the baby and feel up to it. I usually start slow and build up the momentum each month. After I had Kali (baby #4) I lost a good chunk of the baby weight and said screw working out anymore. However, since this will be my last pregnancy (I promise), I want to commit myself to getting back in shape, more active, and looking amazing by the end of the year weights

Feel confident about my body after babies

I know how much of a toll pregnancy takes on the body and emotions. I know I will never be back in a size 4/5 and that I will likely always be in the double digits. I am totally okay with that. I am riddled with stretch marks and may always have a little kangaroo pouch but I would like to be even more in love with my body. This year is the start of a new chapter. I am preparing my body for 30. Preparing my body for no more babies and getting back to my sexy self!

weight

Graduate…again

This one got pushed out to 2018 due to me taking some time off school after this past semester so I can prepare for the baby. Years ago, I pushed through and gave birth in the middle of a very hard semester. Needless to say, I hated every f’n minute of playing catch up between breast feeding, spit up, sh*tty diapers and sleep deprivation. Never again. I opted to take a few months off and then jump back in to complete things.

books

Get more organized

This is pretty much a no brainer. We are about to add our 5th child into the chaos. Organization is key and this will go hand in hand with me returning back to school in a few months. Earning a doctorate won’t be easy and it won’t be fun while maintaining a house of little people and a hubby.

grind

Now for the fun stuff! For 2017, I would like to have a little fun. So here is my little list of 29 things I have compiled to do the last year of my 20s. BTW these won’t be done in any particular order, it will be a “I am going to wing it” kind of deal. I don’t really like the term bucket list, so I have dubbed these as:

The 2017 List of Awesome

willdo

  1. Go to the opera

  2. Go paint-balling with a group of friends

  3. Go wine tasting/visit a vineyard

  4. Be a vegetarian for a week

  5. Build something at Build-A-Bear

  6. Try Spaghetti tacos

  7. Take a pin-up style photo(s)

  8. Go to a spa

  9. Get a tattoo (duh!)

  10. Get my belly button re-pierced

  11. Take hubby to his first live WWE wrestling event

  12. Pay for someone’s Starbucks

  13.  Participate in one of those fun 5k races

  14. Attend a game at the Atlanta Braves new stadium

  15. Have an overnight/kid-free date night with hubby

  16. Go to dinner followed by a symphony performance

  17. Visit the Atlanta Botanical Gardens

  18. Try something new at Starbucks

  19. Get a Brazilian wax with a friend

  20. Hire a maid or cleaning service for a day

  21. Go to a BYOB painting class with friends

  22. Have dinner at a fancy steakhouse

  23. Visit a local brewery/beer tasting

  24. Make craft beer

  25. Go to Zoo Atlanta

  26. Go to a drag show with friends

  27. Do a load of laundry start to finish

  28. Try a new recipe

  29. Attend DragonCon in an epic costume

So there you have it! I will be documenting things as I complete them and hopefully by the end of the year I will have done them all! Here’s to 2017 being awesome and full of good memories…and wine!

 

 

37 thoughts on “2017: The last year of my 20s

  1. janiahfarmer says:

    Love this list! The botanical gardens is actually really nice. Hubby and I went for our 1 year anniversary last year. We had lunch at the outdoor restaurant and everything. I think you guys would enjoy it! Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. savagesevenblog says:

    I’ve been before he hasn’t fully seen all of it. We were going to have our wedding there but then we decided beach wedding in Daytona instead (obviously that didn’t happen either bc we ended up at the courthouse and pregnant two weeks later). It’s fun making him do stuff nc then it’s like it’s my first time too.

    Like

  3. Megan mccoig says:

    I love this post, it’s very personal and unique and I love reading posts like that. You have a great list of things you want todo, and I would love to create a bucket list for this year!

    Like

  4. Catherine Murton says:

    I’m hoping 2017 is a great year for you. It’s hard raising babies and going to school. Don’t feel guilty for pushing your graduation back a year. You’ll feel better in the long run. Also, I love your “will do” list. What kind of craft beer kit are you going to use?

    Like

    • savagesevenblog says:

      There is a place in town that sells all of the materials needed to make all kinds of beer and basic wine kits. We have only been in there once but plan to go back after I have the baby to really look and narrow down this little experiment. I personally like ales and pilsners but I will drink stouts as well. They sell a basic ingredient kit but you still have to buy all the stuff you will need such as the stock pots etc.

      Like

  5. Julie Porter says:

    This is such a great list and I have no doubt you will accomplish much of what you have set out to do here! You are rocking it, raising 5 babies, going to school and blogging! You are an inspiration!

    Like

  6. Debra says:

    I love making goals for the new year – there is so many things you can do in a year but it is nice to make a list so you don’t let time pass you by.

    Like

  7. certifiedpastryaficionado says:

    2017 is the last year of my 20’s too! I haven’t really thought about that until now. Eek! My biggest goal is getting some more traveling in before my husband and I start thinking about babies. We have a couple trips scheduled, but I think we need to squeeze another one in during the fall.

    Like

  8. Brittany says:

    I love your list! There are so many amazing things you’ll love doing in your 20’s. But my favorite is your goal to love your post-baby body. I struggle with that a lot and it’s something we can all learn to love a little bit more.

    Like

  9. lovelysilvia says:

    These are some great goals! I’m also trying to workout and get my body back into shape! And definitely visit a Vineyard! I went last year and I loved it! 🙂

    Like

  10. Amanda Love says:

    I am planning to kickstart my savings this year and make way for a lot more travel time with my kids. I think it’s been a roller coaster ride for me the past year and although I faced a lot of challenges, I also learned a lot of things!

    Like

  11. Homegrown Adventures says:

    Wow girl. I have 4 kiddos so I understand you. I’m trying to work out everyday except for when we travel. Good for you for wanting to go back to college. I stopped a few years back. Not sure if I want to go back. I wish you the best of luck and I love the things you are planning to do this year.

    Like

  12. almostindianwife says:

    Oh boy I’m getting close to this myself! Next year will be my last year in my 20’s. It feels so weird to say that! I still feel young and then I look at my three kids and realize I’m a little older than I think! Ha

    Like

  13. GingerGoose Boutique says:

    Your fun list is awesome! I get ya on the lost 20’s thing but fear not! I got married at 19, had my son at 20 and am 32 now doing tons of things I love and want out of life! You’ll make it happen! Cheers to an awesome year ahead!

    Like

Leave a Reply

