Creating Holiday Memories

Being married to a fire fighter has it’s pros and cons just like everything does. One of the cons is the schedule. Sometimes my husband is on shift when it is a holiday. Recently, he has worked like almost every major holiday. This year he had to work on xmas eve and xmas day. Next year he will be working on xmas day. So what do you do? You celebrate early or later. This year we celebrated the day after Christmas on the 26th. Since I was on my own with the kiddos, I did our usual little traditions, minus opening gifts.

892669_492594007457188_826751636_o

I try to make the holidays as special as possible with his schedule especially since the kids are still little. They don’t seem to mind at all. I think it bothers me more than it does them. They are very patient and understand daddy has to work so we do things a little differently from other people.

dsc_0366

I put up my decorations (which isn’t much but gets the point across) to set the tone. I like to keep things cozy looking and not too all over the place color wise.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our tree is a bit non-traditional. It is black instead of green or white and the ornaments basically reflect our personalities to the fullest.

dsc_0348dsc_0349dsc_0350dsc_0351dsc_0352dsc_0353

For gifts, I always use different wrapping paper for each child. I let them pick which one they want and I use something else for relatives, friends, and hubby.

dsc_0473

dsc_0345dsc_0346

On our “xmas eve” we usually dig into the stockings and build a gingerbread house. I usually assemble it hours in advance per the instructions. I learned the hard way about trying to assemble it and decorate without letting it harden in the past. I pipe all the icing and I let them decorate it with the candy. This year, they wanted to make patterns with the colors and such so it wasn’t too tacky lol

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

dsc_0401dsc_0405dsc_0406dsc_0410dsc_0411

I always make sure I take plenty of pictures and send them to papa bear when he has to miss out so that he feels like he was there as well.

dsc_0369dsc_0371dsc_0383dsc_0384dsc_0385dsc_0386dsc_0387dsc_0388

Every year I buy them new pajamas and they get to open those. With Cameron and Cody’s size difference, this year was a little challenging finding ones that matched for them. I lucked up in Target in the boys section thanks to their Cat & Jack line. Although they were a little big everyone rolled them up and didn’t mind at all.

dsc_0423dsc_0430dsc_0433dsc_0436

At last those 48 hours of hubby being on shift flew by and he was home so we could have our xmas on the 26th.

dsc_0432

We all slept in because well it was a long night. The kids stayed up pretty late because they were excited and hubby ran a lot of calls. We got up around 11ish, I made breakfast, we ate and then we all dug into the gifts.

dsc_0450dsc_0452dsc_0459dsc_0460dsc_0461dsc_0462dsc_0467dsc_0480dsc_0481dsc_0482dsc_0484dsc_0492dsc_0495dsc_0496dsc_0499dsc_0500dsc_0502

The mess was pretty massive once everyone was done. Me and hubby exchanged gifts while the kids were playing in their rooms. I had planned on cooking this amazing xmas dinner but I was pretty tired after everything was done. We ended up ordering pizza.

I did manage to attempt to get a pic of me and the kids by the tree before the living-room was destroyed. As usual, we took a million pics and they all were interesting looking.

dsc_0443dsc_0444dsc_0445dsc_0446dsc_0447

In the end the kids and I had a great xmas and made some new memories together. Things were even better once we had daddy home to enjoy the holiday and spend some time together. Although I really hate his damn schedule sometimes, we wouldn’t be able to have the things we do and enjoy them without a little bit of sacrifice. We are still very thankful at the end of the day. It doesn’t matter what day you celebrate or how you celebrate as long as you are surrounded by the ones you love.

14 thoughts on “Creating Holiday Memories

  1. Devan says:

    This was awesome. Glad you and the family had an amazing Christmas. I always believe that individuals should set their norm, not society and others…what works best for you and yours IS the norm! Merry Christmas Savage Seven! 🙂

    Like

  2. thecoffeemom0617 says:

    I love your tree! I love the non traditional aspects, I’m not an extremely traditional person myself. I did want to just say thank you to your husband for what he does and what he sacrifices to help others through his chosen profession.

    Like

  3. Natasha says:

    This is wonderful! My husband works a crazy schedule, but this year we were lucky to have him home! Im glad you all had a great Christmas. Have a Happy New Year as well!

    Like

  4. Justine Y @ Little Dove says:

    That’s so great that your kids understand that their dad has an important job he has to do. They sound so great. And although it’s sad you couldn’t be all together on Christmas, it’s nice that you were able to prolong your celebration!

    Like

  5. Kristen says:

    Hello would you mind letting me know which web
    host you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a
    reasonable price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    Like

    • savagesevenblog says:

      Right now everything is the free version of WordPress. I am a fairly new blogger so I haven’t really paid for anything just yet but working on it! I have been trying to keep the site clutter free and organized to keep the loading from being bogged down if that may help? I am not too sure but I am glad it is loading without any issues so far!

      Like

Leave a Reply

